It is currently Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:22 am



Welcome
Welcome to imhotep's labs

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How Do You Measure Output on the IRO-LITE?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:58 am
Posts: 41
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Highscores: 1
Hello All,

I was wondering how one could go about measuring the output of the IRO-LITE? I can measure the power going in, for example right now my unit is drawing 6.4 v at 304mA but I have not found a way to test output? I know it charges the battery but I would like to know exactly how much output this awesome little circuit has!

My meters say 1v to 31v and amps look like .12 to 1.3? I tried using an analog meter but it reports roughly what looks to be 500mAs and I know that's not right.

Thanks so much!!!! :)

-Altrez


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How Do You Measure Output on the IRO-LITE?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:44 am
Posts: 397
Has thanked: 6 time
Have thanks: 12 time
I use amp meter in series with the charging battery. That will measure how fast the battery will be filled. Different load may produce different result, so I only use charging battery when doing measurement.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: How Do You Measure Output on the IRO-LITE?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:48 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:48 pm
Posts: 1016
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 27 time
You measure the input by measuring the volts across the supply and amps in series then multiply them to get watts. It is the same on the output but when you do the maths the output is much less than the input yet the battery still charges at near 1 to 1.

Measuring the amps on the output will only show conventional electron flow but we are collecting something else as well. This additional energy cannot be measured on an amp meter.

So we have to measure what we have in the charging battery. Unfortunately we have to discharge this battery to do this.

Remember to use a slow discharge rate, preferably C20, to get the most accurate results.

Digital meters are confused by the pulse rate and give strange readings. Use an analogue meter to measure amps on pulsing devices as it will read an average.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: How Do You Measure Output on the IRO-LITE?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:44 am
Posts: 397
Has thanked: 6 time
Have thanks: 12 time
I think measuring with analog or digital can be unreliable too. The result bellow show how meter show definitely false value. While I use digital in the video, the effect is the same with analog meter too:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Cn63JVAUwQ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: How Do You Measure Output on the IRO-LITE?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:58 am
Posts: 41
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Highscores: 1
sucahyo wrote:
I think measuring with analog or digital can be unreliable too. The result bellow show how meter show definitely false value. While I use digital in the video, the effect is the same with analog meter too:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Cn63JVAUwQ


I am seeing the same thing its very odd. I have added some new mods to the circuit that seem to produce some great results but cant verify output power. Input is easy to show.

-Altrez


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: How Do You Measure Output on the IRO-LITE?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:45 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:48 pm
Posts: 1016
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 27 time
As I said you cannot measure the amps on rediant energy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
suspicion-preferred